London Agreement: Welcome Hungary !

Hungary deposited its instrument of accession to the London Agreement, which will enter into force in Hungary from January 1, 2011.

According to the provisions of the London Agreement, Hungary will no longer require the Hungarian translation of a European patent specification if the patent was granted in English. However, the Hungarian translation of the European patent claims is always required.

The new rules will apply also to European patents granted before January 1, 2011.

Hungary is the 16th contracting state of the London Agreement. You will remember that the London Agreement, concluded on October 17,2000, has the main aim to decrease translation costs for European patents granted under the European Patent Convention. It is an optional agreement which can be adopeted freely by the EPO members.

The other contracting countries of the London Agreement are: France, Germany, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Croatia, Denmark, Iceland, Sweden, the Netherlands, Latvia, Slovenia and Lithuania.