London Agreement: Welcome Hungary !

Hungary deposited its instrument of accession to the London Agreement, which will enter into force in Hungary from January 1, 2011.

According to the provisions of the London Agreement, Hungary will no longer require the Hungarian translation of a European patent specification if the patent was granted in English. However, the Hungarian translation of the European patent claims is always required. Continue

European Patent: Welcome Albania !

From 1st May 2010 Albania joined the European Patent Organization by accessing to the European Patent Convention.  Albania is the 37th member state of the E.P.O.

European Patents are now valid up to 40 countries covering a potential market of about 570 million people.

European Patent Convention: Welcome San Marino!

On 21 April 2009, the government of the Republic of San Marino (SM) deposited its instrument of accession to the European Patent Convention (EPC).  The EPC will accordingly enter into force for San Marino on 1 July 2009.

That means now on San Marino may be designated in all european patents application, and It will be possible to obtain protection in San Marino with an European Patent. It will not be possible to designate San Marino retroactively in applications filed before that date.

The European Patent Organisation will thus comprise the following 36 member states from 1 July 2009:  Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom.